ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Age - over 50
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> Discrimination Issues in ESL...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Anja

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 3:55 am    Post subject: Age - over 50 Reply with quote

Any ideas how to overcome the problem of getting one's first EFL job when one is over 50? I am a qualified primary school teacher with a M Ed and Grad Cert in TESOL but seem to have troble getting anywhere when sending applications for overseas jobs. I have a very youthful outlook in life and love travelling and meeting new people. It is so disappointing to find that one's age can be such a hinderance. Rolling Eyes
unionjack
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:52 am    Post subject: Over 50 Reply with quote

The first job is difficult to get but then it gets easier after that.
I was 50 when I got my first teaching job overseas and then after some experience I was able to pick and choose. You may not have to be so choosy but be careful, as there are some dangerous places out there, especially for a female. I've spent all of my time (12 years) in the Middle East but I wouldn't recommend that to anyone. Nor would I recommend any of those other so called exotic countries. They are backward and fanatical in their outlook.
I would choose anywhere in Europe, where the people are similar to yourself.