ESL Jobs - ESL, EFL, TEFL, TESOL Teaching Jobs
  • FREE Weekly ESL Jobs
  • ESL, EFL, TESL, TEFL -- Get weekly updates of the Hottest New Jobs direct to your inbox as well as easily apply to new openings!
  • Enter your Email:

ESL Jobs Forum
"Where New and Seasoned ESL Professionals Come Together To Network . . . Share. Listen. Learn."

FAQIndex    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

utter failure?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    ESL Jobs Forum Forum Index -> ESL to Young Learners...
View previous topic :: View next topic  
fantail

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 3:05 am    Post subject: utter failure? Reply with quote

I've been teaching in China for just over two months. It's the first time I've ever taught English - the only training I have is an online TEFL course.
Some parts are fun, but to be honest, I've found it all pretty stressful. We teach a few classes on weeknights (adults) but most of our classes are crammed into a 16-hour weekend.

I'm teaching kids aged from 5 to 12, and also some beginner adults. So far, things are going ok with the kids between 8-11 years old. It's the young kids (5-7 years old) that I'm having real trouble with. The parents have complained that I am not an adequate teacher and that they don't want me teaching their kids... which has been a real blow. However, my school doesn't have any other teachers to replace me, so they've told me just to 'keep trying'.

It seems no matter how much effort I put into preparing my lessons, things just go to rubbish during the actual lesson. The kids are hyperactive and won't listen, and even the assistant Chinese teacher can't seem to control them. The parents sit in on these lessons, so they get to see everything.